Cathedral team: chapter

The Chapter – sometimes called ‘Dean and Chapter’ – is the governing body of St Davids Cathedral, providing strategic leadership and direction to all areas of Cathedral life. As St Davids Cathedral is a registered charity, the Chapter legal Trustees, responsible for ensuring that obligations are met under charity law.

The Dean and Sub-Dean are automatic members of Chapter, along with the senior clergy of the Diocese of St Davids, who are appointed by the Bishop. Each Chapter member is given their own particular seat in the ancient carved choir stalls, which is named after areas of the historic Diocese, or a ‘general’ seat as a ‘cursal’ canon.

Uniquely among British Cathedrals, the First Canon Cursal is always the Sovereign. The Queen has sat here, on past visits to St Davids. The origins of this go back to the Reformation, though the details are lost.


2018 Llandysiliogogo

Chancellor & Canon Librarian

2009     Llawhaden

Archdeacon of St Davids

2018     Meidrim

Archdeacon of Carmarthen

2017     Llanrhian


2014     Llanfaes

Archdeacon for New Church Communities

2011     6th Cursal


2012     5th Cursal


2012     Llanddewi Aberarth


2013     Clydau


2014     St Nicholas Pen y ffos


2015     Caerfarchell


2018     Llangan


2018     3rd Cursal

Canon, 2nd Cursal
Canon, Llanfaes
Canon, Caerfai
Chapter Clerk